Fiction - Young Adult (53)

It All Started With A Lie

ISBN: 9781913835323

Author: Denise Brown    Publisher: Hashtag Press

When Pearl discovers a newspaper clipping showing a picture of her dad holding the baby he found abandoned outside a hospital, it sets off a chain of events of ...


When Pearl discovers a newspaper clipping showing a picture of her dad holding the baby he found abandoned outside a hospital, it sets off a chain of events of betrayal, obsession, murder. And it all started with a lie. Perfect for fans of Cynthia Murphy and Holly Jackson.


Bind: paperback


Pages: 276


Dimensions: 129 x 198 mm


Publication Date: 22-02-2024


$26.99
DUE > 30th May 2024
The Crate : A Ghost Story

ISBN: 9780995143746

Author: James Norcliffe    Publisher: Quentin Wilson Publishing

• A dark lake with darker secrets. • The bizarre delivery of a mysterious crate. • A fortune-teller unnerved by what she reads in a palm. • Why is the p...


• A dark lake with darker secrets. • The bizarre delivery of a mysterious crate. • A fortune-teller unnerved by what she reads in a palm. • Why is the past reaching for the present with such bony fingers? For the four teenagers staying near a West Coast lake, what begins as an intriguing puzzle ends with the most terrifying night of their lives, a night that will change them forever… Award-winning author James Norcliffe’s compelling supernatural tale will delight and thrill all young readers with its bittersweet ending as unexpected as it is satisfying. “James Norcliffe is a national treasure.” – Sarah Forster, The Sapling


Bind: paperback


Pages: 160


Dimensions: 153 x 234 mm


Publication Date: 25-10-2022


$27.50
Ted and His Time Travelling Toilet : Shakespeare Shake-Up

ISBN: 9781782704737

Author: Steven Vinacour    Publisher: Award Publications

Steven Vinacour's hilarious u-bend adventure sees Ted travel back in time to get acting tips from Shakespeare himself – all in the vain hope of becoming Romeo...


Steven Vinacour's hilarious u-bend adventure sees Ted travel back in time to get acting tips from Shakespeare himself – all in the vain hope of becoming Romeo to Chloe's Juliet in the school play. But two new additions at school – and some dodgy plumbing – may put a spanner in the works of his already dubious plan. A hilarious page-turner that encompasses history, adventure, and comedy in equal measure.


Bind: paperback


Pages: 224


Dimensions: 129 x 198 mm


Publication Date: 31-03-2022


$17.99
The Other Sister

ISBN: 9780473579579

Author: Philippa Werry    Publisher: Pipi Press

When I set off in my brand-new uniform, I imagined everyone thinking: “There goes Tilly Thomas with her smart-girl scholarship.” Or maybe: “There goes Til...


When I set off in my brand-new uniform, I imagined everyone thinking: “There goes Tilly Thomas with her smart-girl scholarship.” Or maybe: “There goes Tilly Thomas with her poor-person’s scholarship because her family can’t afford the fees, and she has holes in her shoes.” Or: “There goes Tilly Thomas, she’s not as smart as she thinks she is.” Tilly Thomas dreams of doing something remarkable. Her big sister, Beaty, became the town’s first telegram girl during the grim years of World War One, and now Tilly wants to make her mark too. January 1920 heralds the start of a new decade, promising fresh opportunities for girls like Tilly. But her dreams seem impossible to reach, outweighed by all the things that girls can’t or aren’t supposed to do. The war is over, but its shadow still darkens the town. Returned servicemen struggle to fit back into their old lives. Some have shell shock while others are crippled or blinded. Tilly must work out what it means to grow up in a world shattered by war and a pandemic, in a society where opportunities for women are still hard-won. And, like any fourteen year-old, she faces uncertainty and confusion about what sort of person she wants to be, how to get there, and how to believe in herself.


Bind: paperback


Pages: 324


Dimensions: 128 x 198 mm


Publication Date: 20-09-2021


$25.00
Sea of Kings

ISBN: 9781631634437

Author: Melissa Hope    Publisher: North Star Editions

Thirteen-year-old Prince Noa has hated the ocean since the day it caused his mother's death. But staying away from the sea isn't easy on his tropical island hom...


Thirteen-year-old Prince Noa has hated the ocean since the day it caused his mother's death. But staying away from the sea isn't easy on his tropical island home, where he's stuck trying to keep up with his dim-witted and overconfident younger brother Dagan--the brawn to Noa's brains. When a vengeful pirate lays siege to their home, Noa and Dagan narrowly escape with their lives. Armed with a stolen ship, a haphazardly assembled crew, and a magical map that makes as much sense as slugs in a salt bath, the brothers set sail for the realm's other kingdoms in search of help. But navigating the sea proves deadlier than Noa's worst fears. To free his home, Noa must solve the map's confusing charts and confront the legendary one-eyed pirate before an evil force spreads across the realm and destroys the very people Noa means to protect.


Bind: paperback


Pages: 344


Dimensions: 133 x 203 mm


Publication Date: 27-04-2021


$27.99
Ted and His Time Travelling Toilet : Tudor Tangle

ISBN: 9781782703853

Author: Steven Vinacour    Publisher: Award Publications

When Ted accidentally discovers (don't ask!) that his toilet allows him to travel back in time to any point in history, his (slightly soggy) discoveries are onl...


When Ted accidentally discovers (don't ask!) that his toilet allows him to travel back in time to any point in history, his (slightly soggy) discoveries are only just beginning. Join Ted on his fully immersive adventure through time as he flushes himself back to Tudor times and an encounter with Henry VIII!


Bind: paperback


Pages: 208


Dimensions: 129 x 198 mm


Publication Date: 25-02-2021


$17.99
Facing The Shadow : Dreamweavers Book 3

ISBN: 9780473534028

Author: Isa Pearl Ritchie    Publisher: Te Ra Aroha Press

rom the outside, Awa seems like a normal teen, struggling with anxiety over school and friendships. However, secretly, she holds a rare power. She is a Dreamwea...


rom the outside, Awa seems like a normal teen, struggling with anxiety over school and friendships. However, secretly, she holds a rare power. She is a Dreamweaver, one who walks between worlds: that of waking life and the Dreamrealm. Now, she’s finally managed to master some of her powers and alchemise the shadow fragments that were plaguing the beautiful Dreamrealm, but she knows there’s so much more that has to be done in order to face the terrifying Shadow. Awa loves exploring the Dreamrealm. She develops the power to visit her school friends in their dreams, even though they don't know she's a Dreamweaver. That backfires when her best friend Ella is kidnapped in a dream, causing her to come down with a mysterious illness in her waking life. Awa must do everything she can to save Ella... but she has no idea what! And to make matters worse, Veila, her friend and guide, has gone missing. Awa knows she must act quickly because Ella and Veila's lives are at stake, and she's going to need all the help she can get, even if that means recruiting her other friends to help! "A series to get kids hooked" - The Sapling


Bind: paperback


Pages: 236


Dimensions: 127 x 203 mm


Publication Date: 01-10-2020


$23.99
Story Magic

ISBN: 9781631634390

Author: Laurel Gale    Publisher: North Star Editions

Girls are forbidden to practice story magic. Only bad things happen when they do. Everyone knows this, but that doesn't stop twelve-year-old Kaya A'Dor from lea...


Girls are forbidden to practice story magic. Only bad things happen when they do. Everyone knows this, but that doesn't stop twelve-year-old Kaya A'Dor from learning the basics from her older brother Hob. The trick is to sense a listener, one of the magical beings that inhabit the world, and tell it a story. If the listener is pleased and likes the story, it will allow the storyteller to work magic. Although Kaya knows the risks, she attempts a little story magic to impress Hob. When Hob is taken prisoner in Prima, the faraway capital city, Kaya is convinced it's her fault, either because someone discovered what she was doing or because the bad luck has found her. Desperate to save her brother, Kaya will do anything to make it to Prima, including story magic. With each story she tells, her ability to wield story magic grows--and she soon begins to wonder if her brother's imprisonment was really her fault or something else entirely. Each story brings her one step closer to finding Hob and leaving behind everything she's ever known.


Bind: paperback


Pages: 224


Dimensions: 134 x 205 mm


Publication Date: 27-10-2020


$24.99
The Secrets of Star Whales

ISBN: 9781631634413

Author: Rebecca Thorne    Publisher: North Star Editions

On the small space station Azura, Maxion Belmont is constantly torn between his two passions--engineering and music. Both are hobbies handed down from his fathe...


On the small space station Azura, Maxion Belmont is constantly torn between his two passions--engineering and music. Both are hobbies handed down from his father, which is bittersweet since his death two years ago. While his hydrodriver is great for repairing starship parts, his father's old string instrument tugs at the latent grief Max hides from his mom and classmates with each chord he strums. When a foreign starship appears on the horizon, Azura welcomes their first tourist in years. But there's something weird about Mr. Hames, the stranger-turned-substitute teacher. He has no idea how to teach and keeps raving about the existence of alien creatures in the vacuum of space: star whales. As Max and the rest of Mr. Hames's class-turned-starship crew begin to uncover the mysteries of the star whales, they discover they aren't the only ones looking for the elusive creatures--and not every whaler has good intentions.


Bind: paperback


Pages: 228


Dimensions: 134 x 205 mm


Publication Date: 30-03-2021


$24.99
Surrender Your Sons

ISBN: 9781635830613

Author: Adam Sass    Publisher: North Star Editions

Connor Major's summer break is turning into a nightmare. His SAT scores bombed, the old man he delivers meals to died, and when he came out to his religious zea...


Connor Major's summer break is turning into a nightmare. His SAT scores bombed, the old man he delivers meals to died, and when he came out to his religious zealot mother, she had him kidnapped and shipped off to a secluded island. His final destination: Nightlight Ministries, a conversion therapy camp that will be his new home until he "changes." But Connor's troubles are only beginning. At Nightlight, everyone has something to hide--from the campers to the "converted" staff and cagey camp director--and it quickly becomes clear that no one is safe. Connor plans to escape and bring the other kidnapped teens with him. But first, he's exposing the camp's horrible truths for what they are--and taking this place down.


Bind: hardback


Pages: 392


Dimensions: 134 x 205 mm


Publication Date: 15-08-2020


$34.99
© 2024 Nationwide Book Distributors